風雨影響

通過仔細的分析,管理雨水匯集,保持開闊空間乾燥。

風雨和建築外形相互作用,導致雨水以無法預料的方式移動和匯集。合理的開闊空間設計和雨水管理的建築設計會將此類因素納入考慮。

開闊空間

公共空間使用自然通風的方法日趨流行,特別是在溫暖的氣候條件下。這種流行趨向使得建築設計對環境更加開放。此類區域設計得益於自然的光照、新鮮的空氣和總體而言更高的住戶滿意度。

然而,此類區域設計同樣更加暴露於外部環境。風能夠以無法預料的方式夾帶著雨水侵入到無遮掩的區域。建築的體型還可能會引起不利的氣流進一步惡化問題。

由此產生的結果是令住戶不悅的,代價高且危險的。住戶會覺得過於潮濕,樓面會變得濕滑和危險,電路電線會暴露在水中。無論產生什麼影響,區域總體的使用性將會大打折扣。好在通過合理的佈局調節是可以避免大多數此類不利影響的。

雨水管理

風雨的相互作用能夠影響排水系統、雨水收集系統、幕牆系統和屋面荷載。根據局部的氣候條件,適當地微調建築朝向和體型能夠極大降低對管理雨水和應對不利影響所需的資金和運營成本。

我們的服務

我們分析雨水流向何處,及其頻率和如何對其進行改向,而不產生新的問題。我們尋找整體的解決方案以確保設計在雨天和晴天都可以良好運作。通常我們能夠通過簡單的計算提供初步反饋,但是對於新穎的設計我們將進行全方位試驗以確保准確性。

我們首先建立雨水是怎樣進入(“滲入”)建築的物理圖像,如何與建築相互作用。要做到這一點,我們將應用我們在氣象、流體力學和空中懸浮顆粒的物理特性等領域世界領先的專業技術。根據需求和可能存在的問題,我們將模擬氣流和雨滴軌跡來量化滲入問題。另外,我們可以在我們的風洞中進行實體模型模擬。

我們在相同的模擬環境下檢測我們建議的解決方案,並與RWDI其他領域的專家對方案進行探討以確保方案造成的改變不會引起其他新的問題。例如,我們的風環境工程師能夠確保候車亭不會產生對周圍行人不舒適的風,我們還可根據完善的氣象學統計進行排水量計算。

結果將以風險評估的形式展現,這樣可以對解決方案進行權衡和決策。

相關服務

我們還提供暴雨管理、行人風舒適度和安全性以及幕牆性能表現的諮詢服務。

Wind-Driven Rain

Managing rain accumulation and keeping open spaces dry through thoughtful design

Wind and rain may interact with a building’s form to cause rainwater to move and accumulate in unexpected ways. Good design for open spaces and rainwater management takes these patterns into account.

Open spaces. 

A growing trend favors naturally ventilated public spaces, especially in warmer climates. This trend is driving architectural designs to be more open to the environment. Such spaces benefit from natural light, fresh air and overall higher user satisfaction.

However, such spaces are also more exposed to the elements. The wind can carry rain into exposed areas, sometimes in unexpected ways. And architecture can worsen the problem by shaping unfavorable airflows.

The results can be unpleasant, costly, or dangerous. Patrons get damp and annoyed; floors get dangerously slippery; electrical circuitry is exposed to water. Whatever the effect, the overall usability of the space is compromised. The good news is that carefully placed adjustments can prevent most of these effects.

Rainwater management. 

Wind–rain interactions can affect drainage systems, rainwater harvesting systems, cladding systems and roof loads. Depending on the local climate, smart tweaks to your building’s orientation and form could make a big difference to your capital and operating costs for managing rain and its effects.

Our service

We show you where rain will go, how often it will go there, and how to make it go somewhere else—without creating new issues. We look for holistic solutions to make sure your design works well rain or shine. Often we’re able to provide early feedback using simple calculations, but for novel designs we can perform full-scale tests to ensure accuracy.

We first create a physical picture of how rain could enter (“infiltrate”) your project, working with the specifics of your location and design. To do this, we apply our world-leading expertise in meteorology, fluid dynamics and the physics of airborne particles. Depending on your needs and the possible issues, we will simulate airflow and raindrop travel to quantify infiltration problems. In addition, we may do physical simulations in our wind tunnels.

We test our proposed solutions in the same simulations, and we seek advice of colleagues throughout the company to make sure the changes don’t cause new problems elsewhere. For example, our wind engineers can make sure a bus shelter won’t create unpleasant new winds for nearby pedestrians. We can also do calculations for guttering and runoff based on the same high-quality meteorological statistics.

The results are presented in terms of risks, so you can make informed decisions about solutions and tradeoffs.

Related services

We also consult on stormwater management, pedestrian comfort and safety, and cladding performance