冰雪坠落

影响冰雪堆积和坠落主要因素有着相当的复杂性,须对其进行风险分析并寻求解决方案。

所有建在冰雪气候环境的建筑,其屋顶、护墙和外立面都会产生冰雪的堆积。在某些情况下,堆积的冰雪会从建筑物上坠落,对建筑物周边的行人造成伤害。冰雪堆积同样还会破坏建筑的结构。

对设计上的细节进行小的调整,就能够极大程度地降低此类风险。这样的设计改进通常还会提高建筑日常的运营表现。

Ice on roof ledge

我们的服务

百分之百地消除冰雪坠落风险是不可能的,但是我们能够帮助您最大程度地降低发生冰雪坠落的风险,以及其造成的影响。

我们与设计团队密切合作,对建筑的细节进行周密研究,最大程度降低冰雪坠落带来的风险。我们的评估基于RWDI创始人,冰雪问题研究领域佼佼者Colin Williams数十年工作经验的积累。我们会为建筑提供详细的解决方案。

如果需要,我们还能够运用我们定制的分析方法对特定的建筑设计特征进行风险评估。通过这个方法,我们量化不同回归期条件下冰雪相关的风险,同样可以确定结构或幕墙风荷载的风险。在风险分析过程中,我们可使用风洞试验来研究何处会出现由风导致的堆积。另外,详细的模拟可以使得我们能够解决多种成因综合的复杂问题,并提供可能的解决方案。

所有我们的分析集中在以下主要问题上:

  • 出现结冰积雪问题的频率;
  • 结果的严重性;
  • 需要对建筑作出多大的调整;
  • 调整需要的成本花费。

我们有特定工具能够回答前两个问题,有解决第三个问题的思路方法。RWDI 的专家团队会与设计团需要讨论后两个问题,通过各方的协调,将会得到成本与成效的最优解。

Falling Snow and Ice

Analyzing risks and finding solutions for the complex factors that govern accumulation and release of ice/snow

All buildings built in snowy environments collect ice and snow on roofs, parapets and façades. Under certain conditions, accumulated ice or snow can fall from the building, creating a hazard for people below. Such accumulations can also damage the structure.

Slight adjustments to design details can dramatically lower these risks. Often, such changes improve daily operations as well.

Ice on roof ledge

Our service

We help you minimize the risk of harmful consequences from the accumulation of ice and snow. We can’t guarantee that ice or snow will never fall from your structure, but we can help you significantly reduce the frequency and severity of such events.

We consult extensively with the design team to discuss the details of the building and to review options for minimizing the risk of falling ice and snow. Our evaluations are based on observations made during decades of practice by company founder Colin Williams, a pioneer in engineering resilience to snow and ice. At the conclusion of this review, we issue a report summarizing the mitigation options that have been adopted for the building.

When desired, we can also apply our custom analysis methodology to assess the relative risks of particular design features. With this method, we quantify snow- and ice-related risk over the return period you specify, much as we would state risks of wind loading on structures or cladding. In developing this risk analysis, we may use wind tunnel studies to learn where wind-driven accumulation will occur. In addition, detailed simulations allow us to work through complex combinations of other contributing factors and possible solutions.

All of our analyses focus on four main issues: 

  1. How often will this issue arise?
  2. How severe are the consequences?
  3. How big a change to the architecture is required?
  4. How much will the alteration cost? 

We have the tools to address the first two points and propose ideas for the third. You and your team can then weigh in on the discussion regarding the third and fourth points. The result is well-rounded discussion that leads to a cost- and risk-optimized solution.